Dilip Mahalanabis To Be Awarded Padma Vibhushan, 25 Other Personalities To Receive Padma Shri

Padma Awards announced, Padma Vibhushan on 6 including Mulayam Singh Yadav and Dr. Dilip Mahalnabis

Former UP CM Mulayam Singh Yadav has been awarded the Padma Vibhushan

New Delhi :

On the occasion of Republic Day, the government has announced the prestigious Padma Awards. Dr. Dilip Mahalnabis of West Bengal and former UP CM Mulayam Singh Yadav (both posthumously) who played an important role in the widespread use of ORS (Oral Rehydration Solution) have been awarded the Padma Vibhushan. Apart from Dilip Mahalanabis and Mulayam Singh Yadav, other celebrities who have been honored with Padma Vibhushan include Balkrishna Joshi, Zakir Hussain, SM Krishna, Srinivas Vardhan. It has been announced to give Padma Vibhushan to SL Bhairappa, Kumar Mangalam Birla, Deepak Dhar, Vani Jayaram, Swami Chinna Jeyar, Suman Kalyanpur, Kapil Kapoor, Sudha Murthy and Kamlesh D Patel.

read this also

Significantly, ORS had contributed in saving the lives of many people during the 1971 Liberation War of Bangladesh. ORS was first used in the 1970s while treating lakhs of Bangladeshi refugees in camps near Bangaon in West Bengal.Dilip Mahalanabis, a renowned doctor from West Bengal, passed away in October last year at the age of 87 .

Prominent personalities who have received Padma Shri include Dr. Ratan Chandra Kar and Dr. Munishwar Chandra Dawar and social worker Hirabai Lobi, who have contributed significantly in the field of medicine. Other personalities who received Padma Shri are Naga social worker Ramkuibanve Nevame, VP Appukuttan Poduval, SC Shekhar, Vedivel Gopal and Mosi Sadaiyan active in the field of animal welfare, organic farming motivators Tularam Upreti and Nekram Sharma. Janum Singh Sai, Dhaniram Toto, B Balakrishna Reddy, Ajay Kumar Mandavi, Rani Machaiah, KC Runremsangi, Risingbor Kurkalang, Mangala Kanti Roy, Moa Subong, Munivenkatappa, Domar Singh Kunwar, Parasuram Komaji Khune, Ghulam Mohd Zaj, Bhanubai Chitara, Paresh Rathwa , Kapil Dev Prasad has also been selected for Padma Shri.

read this also-

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *